

Minutes – December 1, 2015 ACCF Membership Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 7:32 PM by President Stefanie Pryor at Hazel Auditorium. The agenda and the November 10, 2015 General Meeting Minutes were approved as submitted. Treasurer Pat Spann reported that the Federation's checking and savings account balances were unchanged from November and fifty of seventy-nine member organizations had paid their 2015-2016 dues.

New Delegates: President Pryor welcomed new delegates Natasha Atkins (Aurora Hills), Anthony Maderal (Maywood), and Meg Tuccilo (American Association of University Women).

Membership Committee: President Pryor moved that the Civic Federation approve the application of the Arlington Mill and Forest Glen Civic Associations to adjust their common boundary. This motion was approved.

Awards Nominating Committee: President Pryor moved that the Civic Federation approve the following delates as members of the 2016 Awards Nominating Committee: Joe Pelton, Randy Swart, Martha Moore, Jesse Boeding, Michael Beer, and Mileva Hartman. This motion was approved.

100th Anniversary Committee: Joe Pelton reported that five member associations had purchased tables at the Gala Dinner and counting seats already committed to political and governmental dignitaries and important guests, there were 175 seats left. Joe urged associations and individuals to purchase their tables and seats by no later than January 15 so that work on logistics could proceed. Joe said a "Celebrity Book" was being prepared. He requested that anyone with photographs of the county and its residents of a historic nature to please send them to him.

County Manager Presentation:

Acting County Manager Mark Schwartz gave a presentation on Arlington County's Open Data Initiative. He also discussed strategic planning. Delegates suggested that an enterprise fund be established for solid waste fees, that impact studies be part of the approval process for new development, that there be strategic planning for the effect of growth on the demand for public services, that a single portal be established for residents seeking information about all issues related to Arlington County Government, that county programs are subject to cost benefit analysis. Delegates asked for information on the new independent auditor's agenda, the County's plans for the future use of the Lubber Run Community Center, outreach to military veterans, and economic development in Crystal City.

Historic Designation of the Stratford School Building and Schools Committee Resolution Vote: Michael Beer presented the Schools Committee resolution on the historic designation of the Stratford School building. Presentations on this historic designation were also given by Susan Cunningham, Building Level Planning Committee (BLPC) Chair for the Stratford project; Chris Forinash, Public Facilities Review Committee Chair (PFRC) for the Stratford project; Eric Dobson, one of four signatories of a letter to the HALRB requesting its recommendation of local historic designation of the Stratford building; and Joan Lawrence, Chair Historic Affairs and Landmark Review Board (HALRB). Some delegates spoke in favor of historic designation. Questions were raised about the costs of historic designation. Others took issue with the Schools resolution for procedural and substantive reasons. Sarah Shortall moved that it be tabled until the Federation General Meeting on January 5, 2016 because the resolution was not accompanied by a report from the Schools Committee as required by the Federation's By-Laws and substantive changes were made to the resolution on such short notice that delegates did not have time to discuss them with the organizations they represented. The motion to table was seconded by Bill Braswell, and it was approved by a vote of 28 to 18.

New Business

Announcements

- The next General Meeting will be held at 7:30 PM on January 5, 2016.
- The next Executive Committee will be held at 7:30 PM on Sunday, December 6, at the fire station at 4805 Wilson Blvd.
- December 24 is the deadline to submit material for the January newsletter.
- A revised version of the Schools Resolution will be in the January newsletter.
- President Pryor suggested that delegates send a card or call Ann Bisson, Deputy Commissioner of Revenue, who was in the Virginia Hospital Center due to an accident.
- The Swearing-In Ceremony for County Board Members-Elect Katie Cristol and Christian Dorsey is scheduled to take place from 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM on Monday, December 14, in the County Board Room.
- There will a farewell party for Arlington County Board members Mary Hynes and Walter Tejada between 5:30 PM and 7:30 PM on December 17 at the Salsa Room at 2619 Colombia Pike.
- President Pryor announced that Terri Prell agreed to serve as the ACCF representative on the Fire Station #8 Advisory Board, and Suzanne Sundburg would serve as Terri's backup.
- President Pryor announced that the Water Pollution Control Bureau had requested that a representative of the Civic Federation attend a mid-December briefing on its master planning process for solid waste disposal.
- First Aid / CPR / AED certification training for race volunteers, event directors, coaches, Virginia teachers, and all others. Arlington Mill Community Center on December 17 from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at 909 South Dinwiddie Street, Arlington VA. \$25 fee. For more info go to http://www.safetyandhealthfoundation.org/
- There will be a community meeting regarding helicopter noise on Wednesday, December 16th, from 7:00 PM to 9:00 PM in the County Board Room.

The meeting adjourned at 9:23 PM. Respectfully submitted: Dennis Gerrity, Secretary